Search Results
Database Indexes by Title
F |
|
| Factiva | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1975-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - Find credible facts, pinpoint trends, perform precise research, update news stories using 35,000 sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages - Covers influential local / national / international newspapers, trade publications, business news wires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data, hard facts and numbers. | |
| FAOLEX | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Full-text - treaties, laws and regulations on food, agriculture & renewable natural resources worldwide - covers agriculture, livestock, environment, fisheries, food, forestry, land & soil, cultivated plants, water, wild species & ecosystems - records in English, French or Spanish or the language of communication used by the originating country. | |
| FBI file : Alger Hiss/Whittaker Chambers | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1937-1977: |
|
| No single episode did more to set off alarms of a diabolic "Red" conspiracy within the national government than the case of Alger Hiss. In the midst of the 1948 presidential campaign, the House Un-American Activities Committee conducted a hearing in which Whittaker Chambers, a senior editor at Time magazine and former Soviet agent who had broken with the communists in 1938, identified Hiss, who had worked as an aide to the assistant secretary of state, as an underground party member in the 1930s. This file traces that machinations of the many figures involved in one of the era's most famous witch hunts. Trails of evidence are followed through correspondence between alleged Communist Party members and sympathizers, as well as interviews with associates of the accused. The archive is an invaluable resource on the Second Red Scare and the internal politics of the United States during the early years of the Cold War. | |
| FBI file : assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1959-1977: |
|
| The assassination on April 4, 1968, of Martin Luther King, Jr., president of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, triggered a massive manhunt culminating in the arrest of James Earl Ray. The 44,000-page case file of the Federal Bureau of Investigation documents the bureau's role in finding Ray and obtaining his conviction. The file also includes background information amassed by the FBI on Dr. King's social activism. This archive is of particular interest to students of the civil rights movement and of the continuing controversy surrounding Dr. King's murder. | |
| FBI file : House Committee on Un-American Activities (HUAC) | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1938-1974: |
|
| The Federal Bureau of Investigation and the House Committee on Un-American Activities (later called the House Un-American Activities Committee, or HUAC) developed a working relationship in the period 1938 through 1975 that increased the authority of the committee and gave the bureau power to investigate suspected communists. The archive is divided into three parts. The first part, 1938-1945, documents clashes between HUAC chairman Martin Dies and the administrations of Franklin D. Roosevelt and Harry Truman. The second section, 1946-1949, records the process by which the FBI and HUAC chose their targets. The final section follows HUAC, renamed the Internal Security Committee, in its attempt to protect the FBI from other congressional investigative committees. | |
| FBI file : Watergate | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1972-1975: |
|
| The Watergate scandal grew out of the scheme to conceal the connection between the White House and the accused Watergate burglars, who had succeeded in a plan to wiretap telephones at the Democratic National Committee headquarters in the Watergate apartment complex in Washington, D.C. Early in the morning of June 17, 1972, a security guard foiled the break-in to install the bugs. After the election a federal judge refused to accept the claim of those on trial for the break-in that they had acted on their own. In February 1973 the U.S. Senate established the Special Committee on Presidential Campaign Activities to investigate alleged election misdeeds. This archive is a valuable resource for students of the Watergate scandal and modern American political history. Included here are all of the reports and evidence acquired by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, as well as data that was gathered in the campaign activities of the 1972 presidential candidates. | |
| FDsys | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes. | |
| Federal Science Library | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1600-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - search library records from Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada, Environment & Climate Change Canada, Fisheries & Oceans Canada [WAVES], Health Canada, National Research Council Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Public Health Agency of Canada - covers books & e-books, journals & e-journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, standards … on environmental, physical & life sciences, fisheries & aquaculture, food & agriculture, earth sciences, forestry, geology, engineering & applied sciences, ocean & nautical sciences, technology, medicine & health sciences, business. | |
| Feminae : medieval women and gender index | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1990-present available online: |
|
| Index - Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about femininity, sexuality, gender, homosexuality in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East between 450 C.E. and 1500 C.E. | |
| Film & television literature index with full text | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1913-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Covers more than 400 journals + books - Film & television theory, reviews, preservation & restoration, screen-writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects - Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present - Over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive. | |
| Filmportal.de | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1895-present available online: |
|
| Portal - Data covering 80,000 German feature films, long documentaries, short films or newsreels; 178,000 people who worked on these productions - Includes plot summaries, biographies, images and some reviews - Limited information available in English. | |
| Films on demand | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Films on Demand is a digital video streaming service which offers access to educational videos from a variety of producers including A&E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, HBO Documentary Films, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more. The Master Academic Collection brings together over 25,000 videos from many areas of study, including health &medicine, humanities & social sciences, science & mathematics, business & economics, as well as archival films & newsreels. | |
| Finland : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to internal affairs, 1945-1949 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1945-1949: |
|
| The documents in this collection are primarily instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, social, and other internal correspondences and events in Finland. Documents also include reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, communications between the State Department and foreign governments, and correspondence with other departments in the U.S. government, private firms, and individuals. Contained here are U.S. Department of State Decimal File 860d, Records Relating to the Internal Affairs of Finland, for the years 1945-1949. | |
| Finland : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to internal affairs, 1950-1954 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1950-1954: |
|
| The documents in this collection are primarily instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, social, and other internal correspondences and events in Finland. Documents also include reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, communications between the State Department and foreign governments, and correspondence with other departments in the U.S. government, private firms, and individuals. Contained here are U.S. Department of State Decimal Files 760e, 860e, and 960e, Records Relating to the Internal Affairs of Finland, for the years 1950-1954. | |
| Finland : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to internal affairs, 1955-1959 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1955-1959: |
|
| The documents in this collection are primarily instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, social, and other internal correspondences and events in Finland. Documents also include reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, communications between the State Department and foreign governments, and correspondence with other departments in the U.S. government, private firms, and individuals. Contained here are U.S. Department of State Decimal Files 760e, 860e, and 960e, Records Relating to the Internal Affairs of Finland, for the years 1955-1963. | |
| Finland : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to internal affairs, 1960-Jan. 1963 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1960-Jan. 1963: |
|
| The documents in this collection are primarily instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, social, and other internal correspondences and events in Finland. Documents also include reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, communications between the State Department and foreign governments, and correspondence with other departments in the U.S. government, private firms, and individuals. Contained here are U.S. Department of State Decimal Files 760e, 860e, and 960e, Records Relating to the Internal Affairs of Finland, for the years 1955-1963. | |
| Fish, fisheries & aquatic biodiversity worldwide | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - World coverage on all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries & aquaculture topics, including oceanography, aquatic biology, genetics, behaviour & fisheries management - Includes over 1,150,000 citations / abstracts describing journal articles, books, conference proceedings, theses & dissertations. | |
| Flickr. The commons | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1820-present available online: |
|
| Index, Images - Access growing image collection created through a Flickr / Library of Congress project to show hidden treasures in the world's public photography archives. | |
| Ford administration and foreign affairs | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1974-1977: |
|
| This collection offers online access to the microfilm series, "Gerald R. Ford and Foreign Affairs." Included here are Presidential Country Files for East Asia and the Pacific and Presidential Correspondence and Conversations with Foreign Leaders. Many significant foreign policy events are covered here. Among these are the wars and their aftermath in Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos; seizure of the Mayaguez and subsequent investigations into the administration's handling of the incident; and the normalization process with the People's Republic of China. Other major topics are U.S. military bases and the presence of American troops, especially in Thailand, Philippines, Diego Garcia, Republic of China (Taiwan) and Korea. General topics covered include trade, arms transfers, mutual defense agreements, and meetings between American and foreign leaders. Materials relating to Southeast Asia concern intelligence reports on the situation in Vietnam and Cambodia, the administration's request of Congr | |
| FRASER | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1784-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, data, full-text - access U.S. economic, financial & banking data + digitized historic documents in the Federal Reserve’s institutional repository & digital library of economic history - links to related economic data collections: GeoFRED, FRED & ALFRED. | |
| Freepatentsonline | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1975-present available online: |
|
| Index, Full Text - Covers patents & patent applications from the United States, Japan & Europe -- Records include links to PDF copies of most patents covered by FPO. | |
| FSTA : food science and technology abstracts | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1969-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, Abstracts - Covers food science & technology, including nutrition, biotechnology, microbiology, food safety, additives, packaging, pet foods & all the major food commodities - Includes 900,000+ highly informative abstracts describing food-relevant articles from over 4,600 serial publications. | |