Search Results
Database Indexes by Title
M |
|
| Management of the northern cod fishery : a guide to information sources | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1977-2017 available online: |
|
| Bibliography - guide for identifying & locating information resources that deal with the management of the Newfoundland cod fishery in the 2J3KL zone - majority of sources are of a social, political or economic nature, categorized by format & arranged chronologically or alphabetically depending on format. | |
| Manuscriptorium | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1400s-present available online: |
|
| "The Manuscriptorium project is creating a virtual research environment providing access to all existing digital documents in the sphere of historic book resources (manuscripts, incunabula, early printed books, maps, charters and other types of documents). These historical resources, otherwise scattered in various digital libraries around the world, are now available under a single digital library interface. The service provides seamless access to more than 5 million digital images." | |
| Materials science & engineering collection | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1950-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - covers new technologies & engineering research: civil, mechanical, chemical, environmental, energy, safety & transportation + engineering materials: metals, alloys, polymers, engineered ceramics, composites, biomaterials, corrosion, recycling, welding, etc - comprises 35+ million records describing journal articles, conference papers, books, dissertations, technical reports & other grey literature - includes 20+ million full-text resources. | |
| MathSciNet | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1940-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 3.2+ million records describing journal articles, books/chapters, conference papers about the mathematical sciences - records include bibliographic citations, abstracts, reviews, references & links to full-text ; each is classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification - the MR Citation Database tracks citations by author or individual journal + highly cited articles by subject or year + analyses of journals by their Mathematical Citation Quotient. | |
| medici.tv | |
Coverage: |
|
| Medici.tv specializes in high definition video of classical music, available on the internet, mobile, tablets and connected tvs. Over 1,400 programs--concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, master-classes, educational films and artist profiles--may be streamed anytime. Over 100 concerts are broadcast live each year, in collaboration with prestigious performers, concert halls and festivals. | |
| MedSask | |
| Internet access restricted to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| medSask supports appropriate prescribing and medication safety in Saskatchewan by providing accurate, evidence-based information on medications and medication therapy to the general public, healthcare providers, and other stakeholders. | |
| Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1901-present: |
|
| For tests covered in both Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print, the database provides a single combined comprehensive record that combines Tests in Print Citation with the Mental Measurements Full Text Review. | |
| Mergent online | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 2003-present available online: |
|
| U.S. company data - Covers 10,000 publicly traded U.S. companies and private companies from the Dun & Bradstreet Private Company Database - Includes SEC filings, annual reports, and select financial information - Also includes country profiles with statistical data. | |
| Metacritic.com | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Metacritic compiles reviews from respected critics and publications for movies, DVDs, music, television and games. | |
| Middle East & Africa database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 2007-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - comprises 144,000+ articles from 309 full-text academic journals published by scholarly organizations & educational institutions in selected Middle Eastern & African countries - subject areas: business, science, technology, medicine, social sciences, education & humanities. | |
| Military database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1916-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - covers military & government matters: international relations, foreign policy, political science, armed forces & defense, national security, war, aeronautics & space flight, navigation, communications, civil engineering & more - comprises records describing 3 million articles from 725+ trade / scholarly journals & magazines [most full-text] + 12.3 million stories from newspapers & newswires + 1 million technical reports, etc. | |
| minority voter, election of 1936 and the Good Neighbor League | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1936: |
|
| This collection is designed as a case study of minority involvement in a presidential election campaign, using the 1936 Democratic Campaign as a model. The 1936 election provides an excellent example partly because of the availability of manuscript material on the Good Neighbor League, a vital force in helping make minorities part of the Roosevelt coalition in 1936. Through recruitment and publicity, the League were one means Democrats used to attract minority voters to Roosevelt. Their activities show that bringing together such a coalition was not a chance occurrence, but a well-planned political move whose basic premise was the New Deal legislative program. Minorities proved by their participation that they would be a significant influence in elections to come. | |
| MLA guide to undergraduate research in literature | |
| Internet access restricted to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| MLA handbook | |
Coverage: |
|
| The MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association, the authority on MLA documentation style. Widely adopted in high schools, colleges, and publishing houses, the MLA Handbook treats every aspect of research writing, from selecting a topic to submitting the completed paper. The MLA Handbook is a comprehensive, up-to-date guide to research and writing in the online environment. It provides an authoritative account of MLA documentation style for use in student writing, including simplified guidelines for citing works published on the Web and new recommendations for citing several kinds of works, such as digital files and graphic narratives. | |
| MLA handbook plus | |
Coverage: |
|
| "The go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources is now available online through institutional subscriptions. MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook, the first editions of both the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, and a video course that teaches the principles of MLA documentation style through a series of short videos paired with quizzes, plus a final assessment." -- | |
| MLA international bibliography with full text | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. The database contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals. The complete MLA International Bibliography includes: 2.8 million detailed bibliographic citations documenting the scholarly record from the early 20th century forward; indexing by the MLA's staff of highly trained subject matter experts and by contributing scholars; access to the MLA Thesaurus and the Directory of Periodicals; well as 1,000 full text journals: including many of the most-used journals in the MLA International Bibliography, such as Applied Linguistics, Critique, Comparative Literature, Renaissance Quarterly and College Composition & Communication; 3-year backfile of the top 100 journals; & extensive backfiles to Volume 1, Issue 1 for over 45 journals. The MLA International Bibliography covers scholarship in a broad range of Humanities disciplines related to global liter | |
| Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1895-1976 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprises 1.25 million records describing reports, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. published by US Federal government agencies - covers agriculture, earth sciences, defense, economics, education, energy, food, health, law, natural resources, public policy, science & technology, transport & infrastructure & more . | |
| Movie review query engine : MRQE | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1910-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - Internet’s most comprehensive collection of opinion about film: 1.0+ million reviews covering 119,000+ motion pictures - searchable index of published & available movie reviews + news, interviews & other movie-related material from international, national & local newspapers, arts & entertainment journals, blogs, etc. | |
| Music & performing arts | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text, streaming audio, streaming video - covers audio & video that spans all time periods + hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers & ensembles - cross-searches audio, video, scores & full-text reference content from all Alexander Street Press music & performing arts databases. | |
| Music index | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1970-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprehensive guide to periodicals & literature covering classical & popular music: all styles & genres of music, musicians & the music industry - cover-to-cover analysis of 475+ periodicals, supplemented with book reviews, obituaries, news & selective coverage from 230+ more periodicals. | |
| Music online : Listening | |
Coverage: |
|
| Music Online: Listening is a multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Music Online: Listening allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world. | |
| Music Online. Classical music library | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 350 C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, streaming audio - classical music covering major genres & time periods from medieval to contemporary: choral works, symphonies, operas, avant-garde - provides musical sound recordings + MIDI files, program notes, reference texts (composer biographies, history & glossary) & images - browse / search using titles, instruments, performers / ensembles, time periods, publishers, composers, genres, people, release date, language, label, etc. | |
| Music online. Contemporary world music | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, streaming audio - comprises 50,000 tracks that deliver world music from all regions in every continent - focuses on contemporary genres: reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing & jazz - also includes traditional world music: Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel & gagaku. | |
| Music periodicals database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1874-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 1.3+ million records describing articles from 610 international music periodicals (scholarly & popular) - covers music education & performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, classical music & opera, jazz & blues, rock, soul & hip-hop, folk music, music business, sound recording, music therapy, instruments includes full-text for 225+ journals. | |