Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Area Studies - Americas - Try These First |
|
| America : history and life | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1910-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - covers history & culture of the United States & Canada, prehistory to the present - citations describe articles from 1,700+ academic & popular journals + books, theses, conference papers, book / media reviews. ("Historical Abstracts" covers history of other countries). | |
| Global road warrior | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Current year available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - detailed profiles + data on 175+ countries for international travelers - includes country facts, climate, society & culture, demographics, money & banking, points of interest, transportation, maps, communications, etiquette, useful phrases & more. | |
| International newsstream | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1990-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises 157.3+ million recent news stories from 1,039 newspapers & 152 newswires / blogs emanating from areas outside of the U.S.A. & Canada - includes: Asian Newsstream ; Australia & New Zealand Newsstream ; European Newsstream ; Latin American Newsstream ; Middle East & African Newsstream. | |
| ProQuest Central | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665 to present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles. | |
Area Studies - Americas - More Specifically |
|
| ABC CLIO eBook collection | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1991-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - covers 900+ online encyclopedias covering historical & cultural topics: American & world history + current events & issues, geography & world cultures, popular culture, folklore & mythology, religion, society & education, gender studies, crime & punishment, politics, law & government, business, the environment, physical & mental health. | |
| ABI/INFORM dateline | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1985-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - covers 400+ local / regional / national business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services & other media - specializes in hard-to-find regional business publications with news & analysis covering local companies & markets, employment opportunities, benefits & compensation, corporate strategies, etc. | |
| Academic search complete | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1887-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals. | |
| Arctic Science and Technology Information System : ASTIS = Système d'information sur les sciences et les technologies arctique : SISTA | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 83,000+ records describing journal articles, conference papers, theses, books, government reports, etc. on northern Canada & the circumpolar Arctic - subjects: earth sciences, biological & health sciences, engineering & technology, marine areas, politics, economic & social conditions, land use, indigenous peoples, traditional knowledge, archaeology, history, art & literature. | |
| Bibliografía mesoamericana | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1514-2012 available online: |
|
| Index - 73,000+ records describing books, journal articles, essays in collected works, dissertations/theses, audio/visual materials, etc. on Mesoamerica [México, Belize, Guatemala, Honduras & El Salvador] - covers archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, & related disciplines. | |
| Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1700-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - covers all aspects of native North American culture, history & life, 16th century to present: native culture, history, daily life, archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, ethnobotany, legend & literacy - comprises 141,000 citations describing books, essays, journal articles & government documents - essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal & medical researchers, linguists, theologians & policy makers. | |
| Canada newspaper archive | |
| Internet access restricted to MUN users only. Coverage: 1753- |
|
| Contains 9,439,625 Canada historical newspapers. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword, date, place, and title. | |
| Canadian Newsstream | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1970-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 15+ million records describing articles in 394 Canadian newspapers, news magazines & wire services - access full-text articles, columns, editorials & features published in 390+ news sources from Canada's leading publishers. | |
| Daily life through history | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Full-text - Covers daily life across the globe and throughout history, including: arts, clothing, education, family life, food and drink, gender, politics, recreation, religion, science, social customs, warfare, and work - Includes primary documents, articles, encyclopedias, books, images, maps, and timelines. | |
| Dialnet | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Index - Over 2 million records in over 5,000 periodicals - Contains Spanish academic journals, theses and books in all fields of study - Limited full text and theses are available. | |
| Global breaking newswires | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1994-present available online; |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - comprises 11.2 million records describing newswire content from around the globe; full-text newswire articles enhance each record - newswires are a chief source for timely news; newswires are often the only news coverage for many large regions of the globe - wires are available in various languages: Arabic, English, French, Italian, German, Portuguese, Spanish, etc. | |
| Global Health Observatory (GHO) data | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 2002-present available online: |
|
| Index, data - gateway to health-related statistics from around the world: access health data / metadata for 194 countries; compile / verify major sources of health data; download / display data sets for selected indicators, health topics; present scientifically sound information + GHO analytical reports on priority health issues + GHO theme pages on global health priorities: women & health, mortality & burden of disease, disease outbreaks, health equity, health systems. | |
| Google news | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Current 30 days available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - automated compilation service & search engine for news - aggregates content from 4,500+ English language news sources - versions for more than 80 regions / languages are available - selection of news stories is fully automated; news sites are selected by human editors from 25,000+ publishers. | |
| HLAS online : handbook of Latin American studies | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1935-present available online: |
|
| Index - Bibliography of scholarly works on Latin American social sciences & humanities - Covers books, journal articles, conference papers & electronic resources -- Over 5,000 records added each year. | |
| Latin America & Iberia database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 2000-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 180,000+ records describing articles available in 550 current, full-text academic journals published in Latin American countries, Spain or Portugal by scholarly publishing organizations / educational institutions - Subject areas: business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education & humanities. | |
| Open Knowledge Repository | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1978-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - large source for open access development knowledge - covers economics, agriculture, education, business, environment, social sciences, technology, aspects of development, etc. | |
| Pop culture universe : icons, idols, ideas | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - explore topics related to American popular culture: music, television, film, art, fashion, recreation & sport - search or browse by decade, topic or subject - covers books & book chapters, newspaper & magazine articles, encyclopedia entries, biographies, maps, images, videos, primary documents & more. | |
| ProQuest historical newspapers. The globe and mail | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1844 to 4 years ago available online: |
|
| Full Text, Images - Over 1.4 million pages from Canada's national newspaper - Coverage includes every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, birth and death notice, and more -- breadth / depth of content make it a vital tool for Canadian studies. | |
| ProQuest historical newspapers. The Toronto star | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1894 to 2 years ago available online: |
|
| Full Text - Includes every page of every newspaper issue: -news that shaped each day + editorial & opinion articles, business pages, political cartoons, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, birth & marriage notices - Browse by date or search by keyword(s) or phrase - Retrieves PDF images of relevant pages. | |
| Relations France-Québec depuis 1760 | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1760-present available online: |
|
| Separated by the cession of Canada to Great Britain in 1763, Canadians and the French have been forced to reinvent their relationship. Over time, Quebec and France have been rediscovered by forging new political, economic, cultural, social and intellectual relations. This site aims to highlight this fascinating rediscovery. The inventory literature provides a thorough search among tens of thousands of documents relating to relations between France and Quebec since 1760. The Chronicle offers a portrait of relations between France and Quebec, notably through a chronology of key events associated with them. | |
| Repère | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1980-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Comprises 580,000+ records describing articles from 660+ French-language academic, news & general interest journals from Quebec & the rest of Canada, France, Belgium & Switzerland - more than 120,000 records feature links to full-text. | |
| Web of science. SciELO citation index | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences. | |
| WN.com | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 2004-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - presents news from 750+ reputable sources including mainstream providers BBC, CNN, Reuters, Washington Post, New York Times, etc to more regional & localized sources - provides a variety of perspectives & different interpretations on breaking news events; brings together current news from all over the world in 100+ languages; offers 30 regional news editions. | |
Area Studies - Americas - Also to Consider |
|
| Academic video online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners. | |
| AgEcon search : research in agricultural and applied economics | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1915-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Covers scholarly literature in agricultural & applied economics, including: agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, agricultural trade, etc.; search results include full-text of journal articles, conference papers & working papers. | |
| AGRIS | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1975-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises more than 7.8 million records describing world research literature on agricultural research & technology - covers journal articles, conference papers, books, theses, data, statistics, multimedia material, etc. - subjects include aquaculture, fisheries, forestry, crop science, animal husbandry, food, human nutrition and more. | |
| annual register : a record of world events | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1758-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - year-by-year record of world events: chronicles & analyses major / minor events, developments & trends throughout the world - comprises annual articles on each country, region or international organization: historical context & perspective, biographical information, economics, environment, science, law, religion, arts & sport + obituaries, speeches & selected documents. | |
| BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1200-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text. | |
| Factiva | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1975-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - Find credible facts, pinpoint trends, perform precise research, update news stories using 35,000 sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages - Covers influential local / national / international newspapers, trade publications, business news wires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data, hard facts and numbers. | |
| IMF eLibrary | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1946-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - access content from periodicals, books, working papers and studies + data and statistical tools from the International Monetary Fund's - covers macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more. | |
| JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Varies by journal available online: |
User Guide |
| Full Text - Over 1,700 titles - Includes coverage of selected scholarly journals in the following areas: Arts and Humanities; Language and Literature; Social Sciences; Business; Education; Ecology and Botany; Health Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics - Time lag between the most current issue published and JSTOR's content varies between zero to ten years. | |
| Non-governmental organizations search | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1990-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text – custom search covering content from 1,100+ web sites of international & non-governmental (NGOs) or civil society (CSOs) organizations. | |
| Paperity | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1850-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts. | |
| Periodicals index online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665-2000 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects. | |
| Policy file index | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1990-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts, full-text - find information on both sides of a public policy debate in 200,000 reports from 350+ public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups & other entities, e.g. Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation - over 75 public policy topics are covered; organizational types & their political leaning can be searched. | |
| ProQuest dissertations & theses global | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1637-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available. | |
| ProQuest social sciences premium collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1915-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Includes databases covering international literature in the social sciences: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts + International Bibliography of the Social Sciences + PAIS International + Worldwide Political Science Abstracts + Social Services Abstracts + Sociological Abstracts + ERIC + Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts + PILOTS ( Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) - Provides bibliographic access to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers. | |
| Readers' guide retrospective | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1890-1982 available online: |
|
| Index - Covers subjects in the popular press - history of 20th century America through magazine content - over three million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines; many are peer reviewed. | |
| Reference universe | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1980-present available online: |
|
| Index - Covers specialized content in subject encyclopedias and other reference books/ebooks - Searches article titles and index terms in 47,000+ subject specialized reference works - then links to the online holdings or to the work's record in the library catalogue. | |
| Scopus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences. | |
| Web of science core collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. | |
| World Digital Library | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 8000 B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - Internet-based, easily-accessible collection of cultural treasures from countries & cultures around the world - Includes digitized primary materials: manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, sound recordings, films, prints, photographs, etc. - Navigation tools & content descriptions available in 7 languages; more languages represented by the digital artefacts. | |
| WorldCat | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded. | |